Springbok team to face Samoa announced

Heyneke Meyer and Eben Etzebeth

Three changes have been made to last week’s team, as the Springboks prepare to face the physical onslaught that Samoa will deliver.

Heyneke Meyer has announced the team that will face Samoa at Loftus on Saturday 22 June 2013.

The team has received three changes from the one which managed to overcome Scotland last week in a hard-fought 30-17 match-up.

The backline remains the same, however, Jean de Villiers’ fitness is in question due to an injury, and may be replaced by Jan Sefontein.

If De Villiers is unable to start, Adriaan Strauss will take over the captaincy, and Habana acting as vice-captain.

After Arno Botha’s injury last week, he is replaced by Willem Alberts barring a fitness test to take place on Friday; if Alberts doesn’t pass the test, Siya Kolisi will start on the flank.

Francois Louw will add some bulk onto the side of the scrum after missing last week’s game for his wedding, while Flip van der Merwe comes in for Juandré  Kruger.

“I’m happy that we’ve been able to keep some form of continuity during these Tests, especially in the backline, where a number of exciting new players have come in and put up their hands during Vodacom Super Rugby and in the last two weeks,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

Meyer said the match against Samoa will be a proper test for his squad.

“They have a strong squad and have benefited from having their best players compete in Vodacom Super Rugby and at the top club level in Europe, but our focus is on putting in an improved performance from last week,” said Meyer.

Springboks: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (c)/Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts/Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Juandre Kruger, 20 Siya Kolisi/Marcell Coetzee, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein/Juan de Jongh.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top