Bulls vs Western Force preview

Bulls Force

The Western Force continue their SA tour by taking on the Bulls in Pretoria.

The Western Force will travel to Loftus on Saturday, 2 March 2012, to take on the Bulls for Round 3 of the 2013 Super Rugby tournament.

The Bulls will be on a high from last week’s win against the Stormers, while the Force will be eager to return after being bruised by the Super Rugby newcomers, the Southern Kings.

The Bulls have made a few changes from the team that defeated the Stormers in Round 2.

Injuries to Dewald Potgieter and Deon Stegmann mean that Jacques Potgieter and Arno Botha are called up to the starting XV.

JJ Engelbrecht is also a casualty of injury, and Lionel Mapoe moves off the wing and into inside centre, while Sampie Mastriet starts on the wing.;

South Africa U20 star Jan Serfontein is also named on the bench.

“The Western Force has been a difficult opponent “in the past and will again ask questions to our all round game and our defence,” said Bulls coach Frans Ludeke. We have prepared well though and will be looking forward to the challenge.”

Despite not winning their opening two matches (against the Rebels and Kings respectively), there men from Perth have had some impressive moments. The backline has looked particularly interesting , with the likes of Mafi continuing his great try-scoring form, while newcomer Kyle Godwin looks like a solid selection at centre.

The forwards battled against the Kings last week, and the front row will need to up their game if they’re to be competitive at scrum-time with the Bulls.

Kick-off is on Saturday, 2 March 2013, at 17:05 CAT (SA, GMT+2).

Bulls team:

Zane Kirchner (72), Sampie Mastriet (0), Lionel Mapoe (29), Wynand Olivier (104), Bjorn Basson (43), Mornè Steyn (107), Francois Hougaard (46), Pierre Spies (90, c), Arno Botha (11), Jacques Potgieter (13), Juandrè Kruger (18), Flip van der Merwe (49), Werner Kruger (76), Chiliboy Ralepelle (53), Mornè Mellett (1). Replacements: Willie Wepener (54), Frik Kirsten (16), Grant Hattingh (10), Jean Cook (0), Jano Vermaak (89), Louis Fouchè (10), Jan Serfontein (0).

Western Force team:


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top